top of page
About Lawrence County, Missouri


Lawrence County, Missouri is a Class 3 county operating under a three-member County Commission. It was organized in 1845.


Most county offices are located in the Historic Courthouse at 1 E. Courthouse Square and the Lawrence County Justice Center at 240 N. Main St., Mt. Vernon. The Lawrence County Health Department operates from a separate building at 105 W. North St., Mt. Vernon.

General inquiries may be made in care of:

Lawrence County Clerk Tammy Riebe

1 E. Courthouse Square, Suite 101

Mt. Vernon, MO 65712


About Missouri


Check out the University of Missouri Extension site

bottom of page